F+ Beer

Adventures in Homebrewing and All Things Hoppy

Benchmark

Now that Miso Bitter has had time to condition for a while, I decided to pop one open to compare against a handy counterpart: Red Hook’s ESB.

Both were served from bottle into glasses at about a good standard ale temperature (somewhat chilled but not fridge-cold).  My wife and I both partook in the tasting session.  The table below sums up a kind of amalgamation of our notes.

I think further bottle time will improve carbonation quality.  Miso Bitter is way better than my first ESB due to my correcting the hose issue that caused the oxidation problems.  About the “homebrewiness”: my next process upgrade will be to incorporate a yeast orgy pre-party (via a yeast starter regimen and stir plate) into my brewing procedures, as this is probably the most effective way I can further reduce off-flavors.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

